Skip to Main Content

AARPCV - History

AARPCV History

  • AARPCV began as a small, informal group of RPCVs who gathered to share meals and stories in 1982.  By 1983, we had evolved into an organized group with established bylaws and 501(c)(3) status.  Some of our first activities involved potluck supper meetings, a book club, and volunteering with refugees.In 1985, AARPCV hosted the National Returned Peace Corps Volunteer Conference on the Georgia Tech campus.  Over 300 RPCVs from across the country participated in workshops, projects, dances, and country of service group events.  By 1989, AARPCV had decided to implement a formal leadership structure with an executive “president through treasurer” team.  Our first president, Stephen Dorage (RPCV Philippines), was elected in 1990.

  • 1994 was a pivotal year for AARPCV.  We hosted our second national conference, this time with over 900 attendees.  At that conference, AARPCV instituted a “volunteer day in the community” where attendees participated in various projects including school beautification at the John Hope Elementary School.  This event was adopted at subsequent national conferences.  The conference put AARPCV “on the map,” both literally and figuratively.  Attendees created what was at the time the world’s largest hand-drawn, painted world map.  It measured 37 feet long and 18 feet high, and was unveiled at the closing ceremony of the conference.  Peace Corps Director, Carol Bellamy, got down on her knees to paint in her country of service, Guatemala.  1994 was also the year that AARPCV reached 200 paid members.


  • More than three decades after our humble beginnings, AARPCV continues to be an active part of the Atlanta landscape for RPCVs and the surrounding community.  Membership fluctuates between 250 and 300 members each year.  Among many other activities, we host quarterly potluck socials, fund quarterly international development projects, and participate in quarterly volunteer events. AARPCV continues to grow and expand its initiatives to storytelling and mentoring. Every other year, we co-host the national Lillian Carter Award Ceremony in conjunction with the Carter Center.

AARPCV Past Presidents

  • 1990 Stephen Dorage, RPCV Philippines

  • 1991 Harriet Kuhr, RPCV Zaire

  • 1992 Ralph O’Connor, RPCV Philippines

  • 1993 Paul Bunore / Musa Rubin

  • 1994 Jean Roy, RPCV Cameroon

  • 1995 James Doanes, RPCV Ethiopia

  • 1996 Ann Johnson, RPCV Fiji

  • 1997 David Gittelman, RPCV Zaire

  • 1998 Harvard Bernard

  • 1999 Suzanne Marks, RPCV Togo

  • 2000 Cindy Glocker Crick / Anita McLees, RPCV Cote d’Ivoire

  • 2001 Ellen MacLachlan, RPCV Mali

  • 2002 Rebecca Wellborn, RPCV Jamaica

  • 2003-2004 Betsy Corn Pass, RPCV Tanzania

  • 2005 Kim Ross Beasley, RPCV Jordan

  • 2006-2007 Karen Pilliod Voetsch, RPCV Guinea

  • 2008-2011 Juli Powers, RPCV Ecuador

  • 2012-2013 Maricarmen Smith Martinez, RPCV Costa Rica

  • 2014 Amber Davis, RPCV Honduras

  • 2015 Nick Reynolds, RPCV Ukraine

  • 2016 Jake Carpenter, RPCV Uganda

  • 2017 Patricia Akers, RPCV Panama

  • 2018 Teni-Ola Ogunjabi, RPCV Mali, Senegal

  • 2019 Eben Carey, RPCV Peru

  • 2020-2021 Andrew Mills, RPCV Tanzania

  • 2022 Elizabeth Long, RPCV Mozambique


Click here to see a list of our current leadership!